Coins in Play.

The other day Miss Mimi asked me if I could get more of her bracelets out and if she could have all of mine too. She then set about putting them on display and asked me if I wanted to buy anything. I smiled and asked how much did she sell her wares for? Four dollars was the average asking price and after saying I thought those prices were very reasonable I promised I would return with some money.

Miss Mimi has a bowl of coins that she likes to play with, mainly she lines them up and stacks them. I wondered if her newfound interest in buying and selling might be the perfect opportunity to incorporate money into her play in a different and more practical way.

So I took some coins to ‘buy’ her products then I handed her the rest for her ‘float’. When I approached her stall she would say “Hello, what would you like to buy today?” I would choose a pretty bracelet, oohhing and aahhing and ask “How much?” “Four dollars please” was the usual reply. I would then give her five coins and have her count them out. Only after counting them all she would discover that I had given her one too many and that I would need change.

A great way to introduce addition and subtraction. Sneaky aren’t I?

Come and check out what other mums are up to over at Childhood 101 for ‘We play link up’

8 thoughts on “Coins in Play.

  1. Great idea 🙂 I love to sneak a little learning into play to. As long as it is fun and the children think they are just playing it is all good 😀

Leave a Reply

