We play with Noisy Books

Ok, so I am playing with them at the moment. Miss Mimi is having an afternoon nap (a rarity here) and I have only just sat down to open my Miss Mimi’s new books that arrived this morning. It’s very lucky for me that my job allows me to purchase books at half price, because I can’t seem to help myself when it comes to buying books for her!

‘Spot’s Noisy Walk’ by Eric Hill (check out the ‘Fun with Spot’ website here) with a sidebar of fun sounds is perfect for Miss Mimi at the moment as she is enjoying making up her own stories. You can either read about Spot’s adventures and match the picture in the story to the picture on the sound bar when prompted (great for memory skills, building vocab and generally just being silly mimicking the sounds together) or your child can make up their own Spot adventure and have a go at determining what sound would go with their tale. I like books with cause and effect and kids just love a good sound in a book, don’t they? Kids also don’t mind the freedom to make their own decisions I find.

This next book, while not a noisy one, still has a pretty awesome drawcard…pop ups!! I am excited to have my own copy of ‘The Very Hungry Caterpillar’ pop up book by Eric Carle (check out his site here) Please excuse my dismal attempt at photography but I had to share this with you. And by the way, The Learning Ladder offers this book at a discounted rate for people who host their own get together.

What are you guys playing today? Stuck for an idea?

“Come play at the Childhood 101 We Play link up”

4 thoughts on “We play with Noisy Books

  1. I love buying books for Princess also. It’s nice to have a child who screams in the shops for a book or magazine rather than a lolly ( well, sort of. Not the screaming part!)

    We have some of those noisy books too. We have an In The Night Garden and a Wall-E one which Princess loves.

    I wouldn’t mind the pop-up one myself! 🙂

  2. We love the Very Hungry Caterpillar. The pop up book looks like so much fun 🙂

    I’ve got a stash of learning ladder purchases hidden away to surprise my girls with at Christmas. I can’t resist buying books for them either 🙂

  3. Books, books, books! We love books too. Can’t help ourselves either but we try to purchase at places like Half Price Books, garage sales, resale shops. I have helped create libraries at two small schools with little money. I have a blasts finding a bargain and again what better bargain then a second hand book in great shape.

Leave a Reply

