When it’s time to refocus.

Sometimes when you’re a stay at home parent, you can feel so busy. I have been feeling a little overwhelmed with trying to get everything done of late and certainly my interactions with Miss Mimi aren’t as pure as they should be because of the rushing and the busyness. The TV is on way longer than I would like some days and spending quality time together has become a treat, where it should just be the norm.

I haven’t spent a lot of time on me in positive ways either and I think that makes for a busy brain, one that gets in the way of actually seeing what’s around you and from taking the time to look at situations with a quiet mind. There’s so much to see that I keep missing because of the mind Chatter. Or the Static as one dear friend calls it. How do we put a stop to it? How do we quiet our minds?

I think we all have a certain thing that revives us, that’s strictly ours. Mine is writing. It’s free, though I do love a good massage too. Not so free. However whatever that thing is that rejuvenates us, shouldn’t we make the time for it? Shouldn’t we take the time to have these consistent moments so that we can be quiet and listen to what we really need to hear? Without the Static.

I recently peeled away layers in my life that were having negative effects on myself as a parent and as ‘Jade’ and though it’s tough to break a habit, especially delicious ones, you reach a place where it becomes necessary to break free if you want to evolve. Too much social networking. Time on the phone. Playing games. Eating junk. These things are not helping me reach my goals nor helping me be the devoted parent of my only child. I don’t want to miss a thing of what Miss Mimi does, from the first time she writes her name to the tantrum she has in the supermarket. I want to spend more time with her, around the commitments I already have. I need to, quite painfully, cut back on things that produce static.

So you make a plan to make it impossible to go back and you press ‘Go’. You spend your free time on yourself. Your friends will either understand that chai’s and chatting is limited for awhile while you put steps in place to make your goals a reality or they don’t. They are either angry at you, or they get it. Whichever way it goes, it’s out of your hands.

So after resetting my life, we got back to what Miss Mimi loves to do. Craft. We made a Vet Cage where Seal could rest and recover after a “boating accident.” And in pure Miss Mimi form, she didn’t want to leave the cage locked so that Seal could come and go as he pleased. She is eating less and less meat these days and I wonder what kind of thoughts go through her mind about that decision. Complicated little Miss she is. Here is what we did:

We cut the flaps off a cardboard box. Stuck four cut out rectangles together to make the door. Stuck on some hinges, coloured it a little…

We stuck ribbon with sticky tape on the inside of our door. Popped the door on, threw in some shredded newspaper and wha la! A Vet’s Cage for Seal to rest and recuperate. Miss Mimi then spent a lot of time with her doctors kit, making sure he was well on the road to recovery, checking and fussing, feeding and changing the newspaper. And we smiled, my mind free of Static.

5 thoughts on “When it’s time to refocus.

  1. Thank you for such a motivating blog. It is so easy to succumb to the constant ‘chatter’ and suddenly the really important things – family and self take a back seat. I have been aware of this for a while but am yet to make many concrete steps to change things, I think after reading your post I can now put some things in place.

  2. You and I are little too much in tune some days :o)
    Love you, love your blog, love your vet cage idea.. we are going to make one right now!!
    Here’s to a static free week gorgeous girl xx :o)

  3. Thank you Jade. I came to the same conclusion just days ago. Our kiddies are not kiddies for long and our time with them is too precious to waste. Lily and I just spent the morning making playdoh, building with blocks and reading books. And my very happy, relaxed little girl just went straight to sleep! I was told by someone last week that I need to recconnect with my “inner child”. I think she’s right :)

  4. Ahhh, I so understand the static, so much so…i think that is why my hair frizzes ( although i blame the weather. ) Love you and your writing, you just know how to put it all in to perspective. Thank you for sharing this brilliant mind xx P.s Miss mimi is a lucky gal to have a mum like you!

  5. Thank you so much for each one of your comments, it means so much to me that you understand and that we can, as mothers, unite under the same umbrella of challenges. Here’s to cutting the Static!

Leave a Reply

